5/5

Call Us!

Queens County Farm Museum

Queens County Farm Museum Queens County Farm Museum often called Queens Farm, is a historic farm spread across 47 acres (190,000 square meters) within the neighborhood that comprises Floral Park and Glen Oaks in Queens, New York City. It is the city’s largest remaining piece of land that has not been affected (in the running since 1697) and continues to be an operating farm. The farm was restored and had buildings from three different times and greenhouses. The farm also includes planting fields, livestock, and various examples of farm equipment from the past. Queens Farm practices sustainable agriculture and is a 4 season farming program.

The museum houses its Adriance Farmhouse, a New York City Landmark listed on the National Register of Historic Places. Visits to the farm are offered for visitors on Sundays and Saturdays throughout the year. Hayrides are available every weekend from April to October. A farm stands on the site in the summer months, with Queens Farm vegetables, herbs, and flowers open on Wednesdays and through the end of October from May through September.

The Adriance family owned the farm on their own as it was owned by a Dutch family known as the Adriances from 1697 to 1808. The three-room house they constructed in 1772 was later renovated and is still used. In the following years, many families lived at the farm when it changed from a colonial homestead to an unorthodox “truck farming” or market gardening venture. It was owned by the last privately-owned farmer Daniel Sattel; it reached in 1900 “the biggest farm within the entire size in Queens County and the highest in terms of dollar value…assessed by weight of 32,000 dollars. In 1926, the States purchased the farm from the real estate acquisition Pauline Reisman, who, later the same year, transferred this farm into Creedmoor State Hospital, which used it for occupational therapy, which was used to provide food for its kitchen as well as to grow ornamental plants on the remainder of the site. In 1975, Frank Padavan was able to draft the state law that transferred farm control from the hospital into NYC Parks to start a museum.

Cornell Farmhouse

The Cornell Farmhouse was built in 1750 and was adorned with Dutch and English architectural features. It is known as the Creedmoor Farmhouse Complex or the Adriance Farmhouse. The museum is located in the same building and is owned and managed by the New York City Department of Parks and Recreation (NYC Parks). H&A Queens Plumbing

Livestock

Queens Farm’s livestock reflects the area’s rich agricultural history since colonization when the family’s homes once dotted the land. Today’s visitors can explore the animals and learn about their crucial role on the farm.

  • Two steers (neutered male cattle; Dexter breed)
  • Six sheep (Cotswold, Romney, and Cormo breeds)
  • Eight goats (Nubian, Lamancha, and Saanen breeds)
  • Two alpacas (Huacaya breed)
  • Two pigs (Kunekune breed)
  • 150-250 Hens between 150 to 250 (heritage or uncommon varieties such as brown, blue, and white eggs)
  • Honeybees on the farm’s apiary

Address: 73-50 Little Neck Parkway, Queens, NYC

Consider other areas like Flushing Meadows